What age are you, no really, what is your “age”?

A good friend turned 40 recently and decided to be philosophical about it and adopt the “life begins at 40…” idea. Is she right? Or does it all matter in the slightest, and you’re only as old as you feel? Are you a digital native and clicking buttons before you could hold a pen? Or are you a digital migrant that had to be dragged kicking and screaming into the digital age? Or does it matter a jot?

Here’s something I found on Brazen Careerist. Being who I am I figured I’d give it a shot.

 

Do you have your own web page? (1 point) Assuming this blog counts that’s 1 point.

Have you made a web page for someone else? (2 points) Actually I have, 3 points.

Do you IM your friends? (1 point) Indeed I do, 4 points

Do you text your friends? (2 points) Uh oh, what’s the difference between texting and IM? I’ll give myself another point, 5 points.

Do you watch videos on YouTube? (1 point) A wonderful means of distraction, education and amusement, 6 points

Do you remix video files from the Internet? (2 points) Nope, this one I don’t do (yet), 6 points

Have you paid for and downloaded music from the Internet? (1 point) Yup, 7 points

Do you know where to download free (illegal) music from the Internet? (2 points) if it wasn’t for my internet-sussed students I’d probably be answering no to this one, 9 points

Do you blog for professional reasons? (1 point) er, um, 9.5 points

Do you blog as a way to keep an online diary? (2 points)  11.5 points

Have you visited MySpace at least five times? (1 point) yes, 12.5 points

Do you communicate with friends on Facebook? (2 points) keeps me sane, 14.5 points

Do you use email to communicate with your parents? (1 point) nope, my folks took 10 years to master the vcr, emailing is just too much when there’s a telephone handy.14.5 points

Did you text to communicate with your parents? (2 points) see last comment, 14.5 points

Do you take photos with your phone? (1 point) I stopped about 2 years ago when the phone software corrupted and swallowed all the pics I had on it, 14.5 points

Do you share your photos from your phone with your friends? (2 points) see last comment, 14.5 points

0-1 point – Baby Boomer

2-6 points – Generation Jones

6- 12 points – Generation X

12 or over – Generation Y

So, I’m a Generation Y.  Excuse while I go Google that to see what exactly it is I am……

Posted on November 15, 2008, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

